The Trinity Old Scholars Cricket Club entered the Adelaide Turf Association in 2007/08, when old scholars Robert Thomas and Brad Wilkinson established a team in the limited overs competition.

It was an extremely tough season where we battled the pressures of finding players, volunteers and facilities. 

The club played in its first final in 2008/2009 losing the semi-final to Hope Valley. This was the start of a successful era for our club, winning the next four consecutive premierships.

In 2009/10 Tim Viner-Smith was appointed as captain, winning the club’s first flag in C1 grade that season. Alistair Forwood was then appointed as our head coach (2010/11) and, together, he and Viner-Smith brought the club much success, collecting premierships in 2010/11 and 2011/12.

In this period, our B grade was introduced into the limited overs competition (2009/10) and our club was growing at a rapid rate.

In 2010/11, the B grade won its first flag, captained by Ben Johnson. Keith Hooker had taken over the coaching reins in 2012/13, while in 2013/14 we introduced a C grade to the limited overs competition. That season also saw the B grade win another premiership.

Tim Viner-Smith captained the club until the 2015/16 season, when he headed overseas for several years, and was replaced in that role by Alex Cotter.

In 2017/18 we introduced a women’s team for the first time, making finals in our first two seasons. Mel Hardy was prominent in the formation of that team and was also club treasurer for a period.

That season also saw the club win the A3 premiership, defeating Golden Grove in a thrilling grand final. Our C grade also made the grand final, while the B grade was one wicket away from making the premiership decider.

Eythan Barraclough (captain) and Alistair Forwood (coach) were the architects of the season’s success.

The pair were also at the helm in 2018/19 when we backed up our A3 success by winning a second consecutive promotion, after collecting the minor premiership and winning the grand final with a convincing victory over Marion.

In 2019/20 the club competed in ATCA’s premier A1 competition, finishing mid-table, while we introduced a fourth men’s side for the first time, playing in the Para District Cricket Association.

This season also saw an important change in management, with our longest-serving president Adrian Zorich stepping aside. Zorich is a club legend and we will be indebted to his contribution for many years to come.

The 2020/21 season saw a change of senior leadership on the field, with Ali Forwood stepping aside as coach, to be replaced by former Zimbabwe junior player Ardene Ruhode, who continues in this role. Excitingly, we will have four men’s sides playing, with sides in A1, B1, LO4 and PDCA’s LO1.