Josh Southwell has become only the third player in Trinity Old Scholars Cricket Club history to have won the prestigious Peter Bajcic Medal as the A grade best and fairest on multiple occasions.

Josh Southwell

He joins Jace O’Hara (2008/09 and 2010/11) and Mitch Dearing (2013/14 and 2015/16, 2016/17) in this club.

The award was presented on Friday night at the annual TOSCC dinner at the Old Scholars Pavilion.

Southwell was a solid presence for the A grade throughout the season, taking 24 wickets at 23.92 and, in a season where he put forward claims for allrounder status, scoring a career-high 173 runs at 28.83.

His run tally included his first half century, 54* versus Prince Alfred Old Collegiates – an innings that nearly took us to an unlikely victory when we’d collapsed to 7/32 chasing 125. Dizzy’s efforts took us to within 21 runs of victory.

Although, not quite as high a score, Southy’s 16 runs off 15 balls against Marion in the following (and season’s final) game proved equally valuable as we escaped relegation from A1 by the solitary point.

We shouldn’t forget his bowling exploits and his 5/56 versus Marion, in what was a blistering end to the season, was Southwell’s fourth five-wicket haul for the club (all in A grade).

Meanwhile, the night’s other major honour was the Zorich Family Clubperson of the Year Award, won by club secretary Liam Beazleigh.

Liam Beazleigh

In recent years, the TOSCC committee has had a turnover of talent, with a younger crew taking over from the foundation members of the club and Liam has been at the forefront in that regard.

His commitment to ensuring the club’s administrative processes are up to date has been a great support to club president, Brad Schaper.

Congratulations also go to the other best and fairest award winners, Brad Matters (B grade), Jase Morgan (C grade) and Joel Milhench (D grade).

Daniel Elvin, Mitch Dearing, Brad Schaper, Nathan Kennedy.

New life members Mitchell Dearing, Bradley Schaper, Daniel Elvin and Nathan Kennedy were also recognised on the night, having played their 100th games during the season.


A grade – Best and Fairest: Josh Southwell, Runner-up: Brad Schaper, Leading runs: Shaun Lay (410 @ 41), Leading wickets: Jarryd Furnell (24 @ 20.08)/Josh Southwell (24 @ 23.92); Captain’s Award – Ben Woods.

B grade – Best and fairest: Brad Matters, Runner-up: Stefan Lainas, Leading runs: Dom De Ruvo (203 @ 33.83), Leading wickets: Stefan Lainas (10 @ 1i8.40), Captain’s Award: Jacob Snook.

C grade – Best and fairest: Jase Morgan, Runner-up: Nathan Kennedy, Leading runs: Nathan Kennedy (342 @ 34.20), Leading wickets: Scott Lee (21 @ 8.76), Captain’s Award: Anton Hill.

D grade – Best and fairest: Joel Milhench, Runner-up: Andrew Thwaites, Leading runs: Brad Ratcliff (378 @ 27), Leading wickets: Liam Burke (22 @ 14.55), Captain’s Award: Andrew Thwaites.

Leave a Reply