Josh Southwell is the newest recipient of the Trinity Old Scholars Cricket Club Peter Bajcic Medal for the A grade best and fairest.

Josh Southwell has won his first Peter Bajcic Medal as the A grade best and fairest.

Sadly, due to COVID19, Josh was unable to collect the award with the traditional transfer of the school blazer from the previous year’s winner, Austin Smith. The club held a video presentation instead.

It is the first time Dizzy has won the TOSCC’s leading award and it was gained in the club’s inaugural A1 season. He gained 37 votes.

The quieter half of our speed bowling duo, Josh was very unlucky not to make the ATCA A1 team of the year. If O’Hara don’t get ya, Southwell must.

Jarryd Furnell was runner-up with 30 votes.

In the B grade, Austin Smith won the best and fairest with 28.5 votes.

Restricted to B grade, due to his back problems, Austin let his bat do the talking in 2019/20, scoring two centuries and leading the side into A3 – a huge effort from the club.

Austin Smith claimed the B grade medal.

Austin’s brother-in-law Matt Bailey, in his first season with the TOSCC, was runner-up with 28 votes.

C grade co-captain Nick Paget (45 votes) wrapped up his second best and fairest, ahead of co-skipper Jase Morgan (40 votes).

Pagey’s biggest asset was his spin bowling, which always sucks in the opposition. But he did have the happy knack of collecting red ink this season, not out six times and collecting some valuable end-of-innings runs.

Nick Paget has won his second C grade best and fairest.

In the D grade, the inaugural award was won by Charlie Collins (31 votes).

Charlie was always there in the D grade this season and took 14 wickets, while excelling in the field.

Runner-up was Kyal Roberts (29 votes).

Charlie Collins got away from the laptop to win the D grade B&F.

Finally, the Zorich Family Club Person of the Year Award was won by Mark Dearing.

Mark has been around the TOSCC for many years, supporting Mitch, but in recent times has been busy supporting the club by running the bar on a Saturday and ensuring the game-day tea break set-up is spot on.

Mark Dearing, legend.

Adding to his contribution has been the View From the Bar cartoon, which provided many laughs during the season.

He was named recipient of the award, ahead of people such as Ann and Ashleigh Smith, who provided great support to our B grade in 2019/20, and Brad Ratcliff, who was impressive in captaining the D grade side when asked to fill the key role.

A thank you also needs to go to Ali Forwood and his team, including Tim Viner-Smith and Nathan Kennedy, for their efforts in coaching the side.

Thank you to everyone for their contributions in the season past and we will see you again in 2020/21 (hopefully).


Leave a Reply