This weekend the TOSCC celebrates the 10th anniversary of our club’s first premiership.

When our boys were younger, skinnier, had more hair. The only thing that hasn’t changed is that they’re still champions.

The victory came as somewhat of an anti-climax with the second day’s play of the C1 grand final against Unley washed out – we won having finished higher on the ladder at the completion of the minor round.

On the first day, though, we’d put runs on the board, which is always important in a final, and had made 199.

We’d made a rough start, being 2/5, with Mick Rutherford and Adrian Zorich both dismissed for ducks.

As has been the case in many finals, Eythan Barraclough held steady and Kev Dawson (18) helped the cause.

Barra was eventually fourth wicket down for 47 and we were 4/91.

At that point, Tavis Beere stepped in and kept up the scoring, making 49.

His dismissal at 127 prompted a collapse, with Tim Viner-Smith and Geoff Steele also falling to have us 7/135.

Keith Hooker didn’t last much longer and it was looking pretty bleak.

Here Jace O’Hara stepped in to score a crucial 42, his highest score for the club until the 2018/19 season when he made his sole 50.

Brad Cameron also showed some resistance to make 17 batting at number 10, giving little hint that he would later become the club’s leading century scorer.

The pair shared a 52-run ninth-wicket stand, before both were dismissed on 199 – nipping another fine innings from Ben Johnson in the bud (0*).

Unley were 0/14 in reply, but the weather intervened and granted the TOSers their first title. As is the case in the five A grade premierships since, celebrations went long and strong.

O’Hara pins them

With the grand final a washout, we should look the semi-final, a match that saw Jace O’Hara blast through fourth-placed Modbury to take 6/29 and dismiss them for 61.

Batting first, we’d made 168 from 64 overs in an innings that gave the underdogs some (soon to be demolished) hope of sneaking an upset.

Dawson (38) and Zorich (28) put together some good scores at the top of the order, while Steele (31) and Hooker (21) added some runs before the tail rapidly gave way.

With plenty of time left to play on day one, we ripped into Modbury before completing the rout on day two.

O’Hara bowled five maidens as he outclassed the opposition, while the only other two bowlers used, Hooker and Cameron, took a wicket each (the remaining scalps were run outs).

Hooker was miserly, conceding just 14 runs off his 12 overs. Each of these three bowlers are still among our top four leading wicket-takers today.

Other season highlights

  • Finished minor premiers for the first time (eight wins, one draw, two losses).
  • Round four created a then record club top score of 9/395 against Gaza (we also scored 9/390 in round 11 against Golden Grove).
  • Both of those scores remain in our top five highest scores of all time.
  • Our 9/390 in the final minor round match included seven players who scored over 25 runs, but with no centuries. Top score – T. Viner-Smith 81.
  • Ali Forwood scored a club record 186 against Gaza (still the highest score by a TOSer).
  • In the same game, Tom Forwood scored 100* – but was it really Tom?
  • Dismissed Pooraka for 30 in round five for a record lowest score against (still third on our list of lowest scores against).
  • Brad Cameron took the first three of his now club record nine five-wicket hauls.
  • Keith Hooker took 6/11 against Pooraka, which included the club’s first hat-trick.
  • It was the first season in which we fielded a B grade: playing in LO5 and finishing in sixth position with seven wins.
  • B grade captain: Ash Hutchings; Best and fairest: Darryl Cohen.
  • Shaun Cooper took the club’s first B grade five-wicket haul (5/27).

Honour roll

President: Adrian Zorich; Vice-president: Ben Johnson; Secretary: Ash Hutchings; Treasurer: Stef Lainas.

Bjacic Medal winner: Brad Cameron.

Captain: Tim Viner-Smith.

Leading runs: Ali Forwood; Leading wickets: Jace O’Hara.

Leave a Reply