A grade best and fairest Jarryd Furnell receives the Peter Bajcic Medal from senior coach Ali Forwood at Saturday night’s presentation.


The Trinity Old Scholars Cricket Club completed a highly successful season with its presentation night on Saturday, with Jarryd Furnell and Brad Schaper taking home the night’s big honours.

Furnell had a massive season (returning to the club from Brahma Lodge), winning the prestigious Peter Bajcic Medal for the A grade best and fairest – a huge achievement in a premiership year.

He also took 52 wickets, the first time a bowler has passed the half-century mark in the club’s history, to win the bowling award (also winning the association honour).

The spinner was also, of course, a member of the club’s A3 premiership side.

Meanwhile, Schaper took out the inaugural Zorich Family Club Person of the Year Award.

This is the first time the award, named in honour of the significant contribution the Zorich Family (particularly club president Adrian Zorich) has made to the club since its inception, has been presented.

Brad Schaper (left) with club president Adrian Zorich, receiving the first Zorich Family Club Person of the Year Award.

Schaper’s contribution in 2018/19 was massive, playing in the A3 premiership side, acting as club secretary, improving the club’s communications with the school, updating merchandise and coaching the inaugural TOSCC women’s side.

Also on the night, the first women’s best and fairest was announced, with Tamra Cross and Brooke Moreland sharing the honour.

Club legends Alex Cotter, Ben Johnson and Eythan Barraclough were also awarded life membership, having played 100 games for the club.

Joint women’s best and fairest winner Brooke Moreland receives her award from coach Brad Schaper. Fellow winner Tamra Cross was absent.


Zorich Family Club Person of the Year: Brad Schaper.

A grade: Peter Bajcic Medal – Jarryd Furnell (41 votes); Runner-up – Mitch Dearing (32); Batting award – Brad Cameron (482 runs); Bowling award – Jarryd Furnell (52 wickets); Captain’s Trophy – Brad Schaper.

Women: Best and fairest – Brooke Moreland & Tamra Cross; Bowling award – Tamra Cross & Bailee Major (six wickets); Batting award – Brooke Moreland (248); Coach’s award – Bailee Major.

B grade: Best and fairest – Ryan Roberts (27 votes); Runner-up – Brad Matters & Dylan Winning (14); Bowling award – Ryan Roberts & Brad Matters (23 wickets); Batting award – Dylan Winning (304); Captain’s award – Jack Millar.

C grade: Best and fairest – Matt Knox (40 votes); Runner-up – Dave McGree (21); Bowling award – Matt Knox (24 wickets); Batting award – Matt Knox (476 runs); Captain’s Award – Scott Lee.

100 games (life membership): Alex Cotter, Ben Johnson, Eythan Barraclough.

Performance awards: A grade – Brad Schaper (6/63), Jarryd Furnell (5/37), Brad Cameron (100), Jarryd Furnell (5/34), Josh Southwell (5/27), Josh Southwell (5/4), Brad Cameron (108); B grade – Moe Walker (5/38), Keegan French (105), Tim Viner-Smith (109), Ryan Roberts (5/34), Ryan Roberts (131), Moe Walker (119); C grade – Kyle Presbury (178), Alex Clayton (6/13), Anton Hill (103), Matt Knox (5/16), Brad Matters (100*), Marcus Barreau (104).

Leave a Reply